Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32342

Law 15 - The Throw In 3/31/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I have questions about throw-in.

Q1: What is restart, when the ball never comes into play?

Q2: What is restart, when the ball touches the ground and then enters the field of play? Or is it allowed?

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Petr,
When a throw-in is taken, as long as it's otherwise taken legally, if it doesn't enter the field of play before bouncing it's a retake.
Bear in mind that the lines form part of the field - so what you sometimes see is a sliver of the ball goes above the line then it curves back out. This means the ball has gone in, then out - so it's a throw to the other team. Difficult to spot that unless there's an AR though.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
When a throw in is taken correctly and the ball does not cross the touchline entering the FOP the throw in is retaken. The same applies to a throw that touches the ground outside the line and then enters the FOP. That is also a retake.
As Referee Wright states the line is part of the FOP so if the ball touches the plane of the line in the air it is in play at that moment and then if it crosses back out it is a TI to the opponents from where it crossed the line again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32342
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32344

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.