Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32343

Law 11 - Offside 4/1/2018

Jordon of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

Hi, I wanted to know if the 2nd last defender from team 'A' is off the field of player to avoid a tackle, is it offside if the attacker from team 'B' is closer to his goal line than him? And would this be the same outcome if the 2nd last defender from team 'A' was injured and getting treatment off the field of play?. Thank you!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jordan
It all depends if the player is off the field of play with permission or not. If permission is not given and the player gets there through normal playing motion the player is placed on the goalline or touchline for offside purposes.
If the player is injured as part of play and does not return the referee has to make a decision. The player is still placed on the line until the ball is cleared away towards half way. Once that happens the player is not factored into any subsequent offside calculation.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jordon,
If the player has left the field without permission (including as a normal part of play such as to avoid a tackle) the law puts it thusly:

''A defending player who leaves the field of play without the referee's permission shall be considered to be on the goal line or touchline for the purposes of offside until the next stoppage in play or until the defending team has played the ball towards the halfway line and it is outside their penalty area.''

If the player has left the field to be treated for injury this would normally be with permission so the above provision would not apply.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32343
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32354

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.