Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32344

Law 15 - The Throw In 4/1/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32342

Thank you very much! Two other questions please.

Q3: What is restart, when the ball touches the ground and then enters the field of play in the wrong place?

In general Q4: What is decision? Player's throw position or the ball entry point?

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
If the ball touches the line and then is played the ball is deemed to be in play so play continues. It is only an issue if all the ball touches the ground outside the line.
The position of the throw is key not where it enters the field of play. It is highly likely that if the ball bounces on the line that that the ball has already broken the plane if the line at the throw point or close to it unless of course there is a strong wind.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Petr,
This would be the same answer as those to your previous question, 32342. If the ball touches the ground first, it's a retake assuming the throw was otherwise legal.

For further knowledge, the law says the throw must be taken from the point where it left the field - not that it must reenter the field there. Sometimes a throw is taken next to the line but travels some 5 yards before it enters the field. This is fine.

Don't forget that taking the throw too far away from the line is also an offence.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
If the ball touches the ground before entering the field, the throw is retaken. The law says that the throw is taken from where it left the field but makes no mention of the ball entry point.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32344
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.