Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32363

Law 11 - Offside 4/12/2018

RE: Adult

AG Hagan of Reykjavik, Reykjavik Iceland asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26220

So if player is in offside position and the goalkeeper punches the ball forward (not save) and it hits teammate and then goes to the offside player you would consider that to be an offside?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

we COULD, not that we would or should. It would be ITOOTR! COULD the keeper have caught the ball? WAS he being challenged?

the way you describe it I would say the punch is a parry, a deliberate possession then release thus offside no longer applies. It is NOT a dual rebound /deflection sequence.

On the opposite side of the fence if the referee considered the PUNCH as a deliberate save with that rebound deflecting off an unsuspecting defender then the oppositions' offside restrictions are not reset and offside could be correct!

I have on occasions awarded an offside after multiple rebounds & deflections One was in a men's 2nd division match up, a nearby PIOP but NOT interfering watches as keeper dives to push the ball off far post, ball rebounds off post into the back of one defender's left shoulder off the knee of another defender over to our PIOP who thought, thank you ! I said uh no and blew the whistle . BUT REF the ball went off 3 of their players . True but no defender deliberately played the ball except the keeper & that was a save!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Yes it would not be offside as the last player to play the ball is an opponent. From reading your description here it reads like the disallowed Sane goal in the Manchester City v Liverpool game. The Liverpool goalkeeper punched the ball away yet it deflected back off a Liverpool player to the Manchester City player who was in an offside position. It should not have been called as offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi AG,
If, as you say, the play on the ball by the keeper is not a save, it cannot lead to an offside offence. A player is not offside if there was a deliberate play by an opponent that causes the ball to come to them.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32363
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.