Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32390

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/20/2018

RE: Rec Under 12

Jose Llopis of Vicksburg, MS USA asks...

The ball is kicked to the keeper by an opponent and the keeper receives it with his feet. The keeper then dribbles the ball out of the penalty box, kicks it back into the penalty box where he handles the ball prior to anybody else touching it. Is this a foul? If so, should it be an indirect free kick?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jose,

First place to check is always Law 12 - that lists all the fouls that are relevant to only the keeper.

An indirect free kick is awarded if a goalkeeper, inside their penalty area, commits any of the following offences:

- controls the ball with the hands for more than six seconds before releasing it
- touches the ball with the hands after:
- releasing it and before it has touched another player
- it has been deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team-mate
- receiving it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate

'Control' refers to handling the ball when it comes to a keeper. So the keeper hasn't received it by a deliberate kick or TI from a teammate, and the keeper never handled it initially - not until the keeper picked it up.
No offence has been committed.
If the keeper receives the ball from an opponent or unintentionally from a teammate, it doesn't matter where they receive it or where/how long they run around with it for at their feet - as long as there is no double handling, it's fine.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jose,
This is not an offence. A goalkeeper receiving the ball from an opponent is allowed to use the hands to contact the ball inside the penalty area, whether they have dribbled it outside the area or not.

Ref Wright has given quotes from the relevant parts of the law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Jose,
there is no restriction in place. I do recall when they first introduced this portion of law.( pass back concept) I felt if the keeper had passed it to himself he somehow was circumventing the LOTG restriction I was wrong back then and realized the reasoning was to stop time wasting not to prevent the keeper from legally using up time.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jose
The restriction only applies if the ball is deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team mate not by an opponent. So no offence for what you describe.
Had the goalkeeper picked the ball up from an opponent and then released it to the ground the goalkeeper is restricted from touching the ball again with the hands until it has touched an opponent or played to him by a team mate in a manner that allows him to use his hands such as a header etc.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32390
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32418

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.