Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32392

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 4/22/2018

RE: Adult

Graeme Wright of Bradford, United Kingdom asks...

I attended the (very enjoyable) Bradford (Park Avenue) v Harrogate Town game yesterday, & witnessed an incident that had me browsing for a ask the ref website - I landed here.

With the visitors automatic promotion hopes dwindling at 0-2 down, Harrogate were awarded a corner on 84 minutes. On TV, weve all seen corner kick takers place the ball a few inches outside the corner arc, only for a linesman(should one be patrolling that side of the pitch & half) instruct the player to reposition the ball.

On this occasion the Harrogate corner kick taker placed the ball some 12-18 inches outside the arc- not 12 or 24 inches, but somewhere between. I, & a Harrogate supporting couple close by were perfectly positioned to view this transgression, all three of us laughing at his impudence. Harrogate scored from the corner, & while their fans chuckled at the incident, I rolled my eyes.

Neither the linesman, who was patrolling the other half of the pitch- & positioned on the half-way line, the referee- or any Park Avenue players noticed this indiscretion, so the goal stood, giving Harrogate a lifeline- with regards their promotion prospects. Fortunately, in scoring a third, Avenue put the game to bed.

So, this got me thinking. When a foul throw occurs, the throw is then awarded to the opponents. Had the linesman or referee noticed where the ball had been placed- as the kick was being taken- & goal scored, what would be the ruling? Would the player be asked to re-take the corner, or might the opponents be handed possession- as with a throw-in?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Graeme
As the kick was not taken in line with the correct procedure the kick is retaken. However it rarely if ever happens as the referee should ensure the ball is correctly positioned before allowing the kick to proceed.
If it is allowed it is obviously not seen by the officials. As the referee nor an assistant has seen the incorrect ball placement the referee has no choice but to allow the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Graeme,

The LOTG state the ball must be placed inside the arc which implies at least some overhang of the arc line! If the AR or CR does not object to the placement either because they are unaware or choose to ignore it as trifling and count a goal that results from such a placement as a fact of play the goal would count although if a clear video showed the transgression that the ball WAS well outside, some interesting post game review would most definitely take place as to future match options!

If the kick WAS taken with the ball out of the arc the correct restart is a redo not a loss of possession but it should occur immediately as it occurs, not after a goal mouth scramble.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32392
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - The Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.