Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32395

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 4/22/2018

RE: Competitive Under 15

Mark Fischer of Armonk, NY USA asks...

In a U14 EDP game, the referee mistakenly blew the whistle. S/he restarted play with a dropped ball 3 feet outside of the box to one side of the goal (not on the line parallel to the goal line). The question came to me whether the dropped ball should have been at the point where the ball was when the whistle was blown. It doesn't sound like there was clear offensive possession of the ball or a clear goal scoring opportunity. Thoughts?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
On a mistaken whistle the restart is a dropped ball from where the ball was located when play was stopped. If play was stopped inside the goal area in which case the ball is dropped on the goal area line which is parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the ball was when play was stopped..
As to whether the dropped ball should be contested or not that is not a matter for the referee. The teams can chose to sort it themselves and one would like to think that in the spirit of Fair Play that the attacking team if not in clear possession or a goal chance may decide not to contest the DB. It certainly can pose a problem for the game given its location and the fact the goalkeeper can get involved in the DB and use his hands.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mark,
The correct decision in such a situation is indeed a dropped ball from the position of the ball when play was stopped, with the exception as stated by ref McHugh. Who had possession and whether there was some kind of goal scoring opportunity is not a factor.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mark,
Under FIFA for an inadvertent whistle the drop ball is the correct restart. The two teams can choose to contest possession at the drop or offer to return possession depending on the circumstances of who might have had possession. If the ball was within either team's 6 yard goal area only then is a the restart location affected as the ball is brought to a point 6 yards from goal straight back from where it was at the time of the stoppage. Given a keeper can use their hands it creates a dilemma for these situations so be wary of creating them inside the PA .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32395
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.