Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32401

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 4/24/2018

RE: Competive Adult

Enrique86 of Red Deer, Canada asks...

A player who is taking a penalty misses the ball when attempting to take the kick what is the restart.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
I have never seen this done accidentally. I have seen many such situations where it is done deliberately as illegal feinting to get the goalkeeper to dive and then the kick is made with the ball going into the opposite side of the goal. That is not allowed under the Laws and in those cases the player is cautioned for unsporting behaviour and it is an IDFK from the penalty mark to the defending team.
If a player slipped on the run up and fell in his kicking action missing the ball completely and it is totally accidental the referee would be entitled for the kick to be taken correctly as the kick has not happened. I have seen one or two of these where the kicker stumbled where the ball was actually touched by the kicker and then double touched which is an IDFK offence and no caution.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=altzU3kU3Lo
In this video the restart would have been an IDFK for a double touch by the kicker
I really cannot see a complete miss with no contact on the ball yet if it where to happen the referee has to make the best decision taking into account all the circumstances and possible reasons such as pitch condition, age of the player, totally accidental or deliberate etc.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Enrique,
I, like ref McHugh, have never seen a player miss the ball by accident when taking a penalty and I doubt if I ever would. In the highly unlikely event of that happening and if I was convinced that it was a total accident, I agree that the player should be allowed to take the kick properly.

As ref McHugh also says, it much more likely that a double touch or feinting offence would occur and if so, this should be dealt with as he states.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32401
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.