Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32408

High School 4/29/2018

RE: Rec and select High School

mary ramirez-de-arellano of damascus, maryland USA asks...

What is the restart if the penalty kick rebounds off the goalkeeper into the penalty area and the penalty kick player then kicks the ball into the goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mary
The restart is a kick off as the goal is good.
The kicker cannot play the ball for a second time at any restart including a penalty kick UNTIL it touches another player which includes the goalkeeper.
Should the ball rebound off the frame of the goal the kicker is restricted from playing the ball as it has not yet touched another player in which case it is an IDFK from where the double touch occurs.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Mary,

For high school play, the result is as indicated by referee McHugh, a goal and a restart with a kick off.

This is covered in NFHS Rule 14-1-5 which states: 'The kicker may not play the ball until it has been touched or played by another player on either team.'

You may be interested in seeing the high school 2018-2019 Rules Changes. They can be found at http://nfhs.org/sports-resource-content/soccer-rules-changes-2018-19/

I hope that you have a successful high school season this fall.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mary,
if the keeper gets any touch at all on the ball it is available to the PK kicker to re-kick it as the ball no longer has a 2nd touch restriction on it The ball could deflect off post or crossbar before or after the keeper touch but the key is the eventual KEEPER touch.

This is different than if the ball rebounds ONLY off the woodwork and the keeper NEVER got any touch even accidently. The PK kicker would have to wait for any of the other 20 possible players to get in a touch before he could reboot that ball a 2nd time!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32408
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.