Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32409

Law 5 - The Referee 4/29/2018

RE: Intermediate Under 14

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

I have a question about the match between Real Madrid vs. Leganes. I don't have the complete video, but roughly at 44:43 into the game, Mayoral, for Madrid, scores their 2nd goal. It can be seen in the highlights at 1:25 here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elBLuVA-edI. The AR called offside, the goal was disallowed, & play restarted. Apparently, the referee continued to communicate with the AR & overruled him. Mayoral was onside when the ball was kicked & the AR seemed to think that the ball was deflected by a Madrid player when Mayoral was offside. However, the ball was deflected off a Leganes player, so offside didn't reset.

Law 5 says: 'The referee may not change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or on the
advice of another match official if play has restarted...' How was the referee able to change the decision & award the goal? (The only thing I can think of is that Leganes restarted & the referee somehow indicated that they should wait.)

Thanks again!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The videos I have seen do not show the complete incident
First off it could not be offside as the scorer was in an onside position when the ball was kicked and the subsequent touch was by a Lehanes player.
Now the game cannot restart until the referee is ready and a quick restart does not nullify that. The conceding team hoped for an IDFK so the referee decided that he was not ready to restart as he was still communicating with his AR. Changing a decision does no apply as play has not restarted WITH the referees permission. Had he allowed the IDFK restart the referee could not go back and change his mind.
Always remember that it is up to the referee to decide / allow the restart not the teams decision.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Phil,
Based on the replays that I have seen, the referee did not award an indirect free kick for offside to Leganes, they just went ahead and acted as if a free kick had been given. The referee does not at first, indicate what the decision is (he appears to be in conversation with the AR over the comms system) which makes things a little unclear for the players - and the commentators. The first indication that the referee gives of anything, as far as I can see, is after a few seconds when he signals to award the goal.

So it appears to me that the referee did not change a decision as he had not made one, before awarding the goal. The fact that the Leganes players tried to act as if a free kick had been given, does not make it so.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

H Phil,

The fact was the referee had not indicated the restart. The team hoped it was an INDFK they hoped incorrectly and the kick off was indeed the correct restart after awarding the goal!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32409
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.