Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32434

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/8/2018

RE: College

Travis Miller of Andover, MA United States asks...

If a goalie punts the ball, and then catches it themselves, with no contact with anyone else, inside the box, what is the correct call?

I was asked this question by a player, after they saw it in a previous game. My interpretation is that the goalie has released the ball, but then has picked it up again - akin to a keeper dropping the ball to the ground and playing it with their feet and picking it up before anyone else has contacted it...

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Travis
Yes that is a technical offence punished by an indirect free kick from where the goalkeeper touched the ball with his hands.
Once the goalkeeper released the ball from his hands the GK may not touch the ball again with a hand.
Now there might be an odd situation where the ball is dropped and the goalkeeper picks the ball immediately on the first bounce. The referee could opine not to punish that as a bounce of the ball is not release of possession. In the case though of a kick it is a release and an IDFK if the ball is handled without it touching an opponent or a team mate in way that allows the ball to be handled by the GK such as from a header, chest etc.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Travis,
As described, this is the offence of a goalkeeper releasing the ball from the hands and then touching it again with the hands before it has touched another player, and according to the Laws of the Game, results in an indirect free kick.

I could imagine a scenario where with very young players, I suppose some referees might choose to see this as a trivial offence not worth penalizing but not at older levels and certainly not at College level.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32434
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.