Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32441

High School 5/10/2018

RE: HS High School

Troy Adams of Naperville, IL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 20203

Can an offsides penalty occur in your own defensive half? And could a ball be placed for a restart, because of an offsides call, in your own defensive half of the field?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Troy
Simple answer is YES.
In both NFHS and FIFA games indirect free kicks are awarded and taken from the point of offence. That included a player being penalised for offside. In offside the location of the offence offence is now where the offside positioned player touches the ball or interferes with an opponent.
Historically offside position of the PIOP at the moment the ball was played by a team mate was the location of the restart. The Laws had a major update in 2016 when IFAB amended all the Laws including Law 11
Throughout the Laws, the general principle is that a free kick is awarded where an offence occurs so this now applies to offside. A free kick can be awarded in a players own half if the player moves from an offside position in the opponents half to commit an offside offence in the players own half.
NFHS has outlined that the wording below will appear in Rule 11 of the 2018/19 Rule Book and I quote
** 11-1-4: A Player is offside and penalized if, at the time the ball touches or is played by a teammate, the player, in an offside position, becomes involved in active play by:
a. interfering with play or with an opponent or;
b. seeks to gain an advantage by being in that position.
A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent, who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save), is not considered to have gained an advantage. Indirect free kick at the spot of the infraction (even in own half), subject to the provisions in P 13.1.3**
Note the words (even in his own half ) which clarifies the location of the IDFK restart.
So in summary the IDFK can and should be taken where the player touches the ball or interferes with an opponent which includes his own half which is common now to both codes. It is a reasonably rare offence yet I have given it a few times and seen it on TV.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32441
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.