Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32486

Kicks From The Penalty mark 6/1/2018

RE: Under 13

Pat Dempsey of Clonsilla, DUBLIN 15 Ireland asks...

KFPM - is usually 5 penalties and then sudden death, what happens if the referee allows only 3 from 3 and one teams scores 3 while the other scores 2.
After 3 days the losing team read that it should have been 5 penalties to be taken on the day and are looking for the game to be replayed.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Pat
Thanks for the question. Strange one
Why was only three kicks allowed if I am reading that correctly?. I can see a situation where the referee does not have to have 5 kicks taken if the remaining penalties CANNOT change the result. However if it is 5 kicks as per the IFAB / FIFA Kicks from the Penalty Mark then in such a situation the team on 3 goals could miss the last two and the team on 2 could score both which would make it 3-4
Law 10 of the Laws of the Game clearly states and I quote
** If, before both teams have taken five kicks, one has scored more goals than
the other could score, even if it were to complete its five kicks, no more kicks are taken**
So common sense says no more kicks if a team cannot be beaten by the taking of remaining penalties and the laws spells it out.
Some questions I would have is
1. Why was it only three kicks?
2. Was it a unique competition with its own competition rules?
3. What was agreed on the day and why was it not sorted there and then?
By the way the competition organisers could have a number of options open to them depending on the answers to the above questions and its competition rules.
It could be
1. Accept the result
2. Order a replay
3. Agree to a Kicks from the Penalty Mark competition only to settle the tie
4. Take the remaining 4 kicks, two for each side.
The experience of recent decisions at all levels in situations with a misapplication of the Law has been to only deal with the misapplication rather than a full replay.
In this video this replay began from the moment of the penalty kick due to a misapplication of the penalty kick in the original game. An IDFK was awarded instead of a retake in the last minute of the game.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7E3g_JKBYj0
Both teams with a new referee were brought back to finish out the game restarting at the moment of the misapplication which was the penalty kick. Imagine the cost and effort for that two minutes or less of football!





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Pat,
sounds rather odd?

It is as if the referee was conducting a sudden death shoot out from the start and at 3 to 2 on the miss he stopped?

The ROC (rules of competition) will come into effect as to how they will decide to proceed.

The correct KFTPM to decide a tied match generally requires the 5 apiece, THEN if tied, head into a shoot out, tit for tat until one misses.

In a regulation shoot out once the outcome is decided after 3 there is no need to use up the extra shots if one team is up 3 to 0 as at best it would be 3 to 2

IF thought the KFTPM was incorrectly stopped at 3 to 2 with 2 more shots to be taken it is against the LOTG and something should be done to address the injustice .

Be it a replay or a continuation of the KFTPM.
Only the ruling body can decide how to follow up?
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32486
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.