Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32500

Kicks From The Penalty mark 6/10/2018

RE: Competitive Under 13

Dennis Patterson of Louisville, OHIO United States asks...

Our championship game ended with a tie. We do pks to decide winner. Apparently our goalie moved before the ball was in play. There was an AR who raised the flag
Then put it down. The goalies changed. Our player was ready, the ball was set. Then the AR gets the ref and they huddle and let the other team rekick. Is this allowed We play competitive u12.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Dennis,
If the keeper is considered to have encroached, and the kick is missed, then the kick is retaken and the keeper must be cautioned. It sounds like the AR decided to call encroachment, had some indecision, and the refereeing team discussed it and decided it was encroachment. While the initial indecision is never a good look, they conferred and reached a decision which is a good approach.
Of course, the decision should be made well before the next kicker is in place. The referee has up until the next kick occurs to change the decision - but it shouldn't have taken that long. So there's nothing that indicates the referees have done anything wrong as such, but they didn't do it well.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Dennis,
You don't say what was the result of the penalty kick where your keeper moved early. If it was a goal, the score should stand. If the penalty was not scored, it should be retaken - and according to the law your goalie should have been cautioned.

It was not the best mechanics to wait for the players to be in position for the next penalty before conferring and coming to the decision that the previous penalty should be retaken but it is permissible since the next kick had not actually been taken yet.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dennis
Thanks for the question
Poor mechanics here rather than a misapplication of the Law caused the issue.
When the AR raised his flag it was to signal I assume for encroachment by the goalkeeper off his line before the kick was taken. As the kick was missed the correct decision was a caution for the goalkeeper and a RETAKE.
Now obviously that did not get conveyed immediately or picked up by the referee so it was assumed that the next kick would proceed.
The AR knew that was not correct so he alerted the referee to his flag which should have remained UP until dealt with by the referee. When the referee was informed that the raised flag was for encroachment by the GK then the only possible decision was a retake. It made no difference that the next kick was being set up.
Indeed the Laws go as far as to say that the retake can be by another player who has not already taken a kick.
So the retake was allowed and the correct decision was made. Only the mechanics of how the decision was made was at question and had it been handled correctly with an immediate retake it would have raised less questioning. Retakes however from experience always raise conflict
Have a look at this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L75LugM6IHA
The goalkeeper was sent off for a second caution on encroachment and a retake.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32500
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.