Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32502

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2018

RE: Under 13

Adam Barbary of Creswick, Vic Australia asks...

In a recent State championship a striker took a shot on goal only to have a defender, not the keeper,use two hands, in the goal square, in a deliberate attempt to push the ball over the net. Whilst contact was made the lift was not sufficient and the ball entered the goal. What is the appropriate call for this?
1) goal
2) penalty, no card
3) penalty, red card
4) other

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Adam,
4) Other. The decision should be goal and yellow card. Firstly, the goal is awarded using the advantage clause (there is nothing more advantageous to a team than a goal) and the yellow card is required as per the following wording which can be found in Law 12:

''There are different circumstances when a player must be cautioned for unsporting behaviour including if a player [...] handles the ball [...] in an unsuccessful attempt to prevent a goal.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Adam
The referee will play advantage here as a goal has been scored and the referee will caution the defender for unsporting behaviour.
Had the defender been successful in stopping the goal the decision would have been a penalty kick and a red card for denying a goal.
Now 99.99% of the times the referee will not have stopped the game before the ball crosses the goal line nor has he decided to do so before the goal is scored. In the unusual 00.01% of times where the referee has stopped play with a whistle before the ball crosses the line the decision is a penalty kick and a red card. Once the goal has been legitimately scored and in the spirit of the game it cannot be taken back to a PK and a red card.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32502
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.