Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32506

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/12/2018

RE: Competitive Under 19

Salvador Flores of Indianapolis , IN Usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32505

I am sorry i just forgot to add the INDFK at the end. I know it would be an INDFK for the keeper in that situation. But even if the ref called indirect free kick for the keeper, could he still get a caution or sent off for kicking the player who kicked the ball out of his hands and keeper with the momentum kicked the player. Could the keeper still get a yellow or red card for the kick even if the correct restart would be an INDFK against the other player and a caution for the player? If the kick was reckless or excessive?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Salvador
I believe you are reading too much into the actions of the goalkeeper. If all the goalkeeper has done is attempt to punt the ball and the attacker has placed his leg in a position where it should not be then it is a direct free kick against the attacker and most likely a caution once there is contact on the goalkeeper.
The attacker cannot plead ignorance of the consequences as he knows that the goalkeeper cannot be challenged on a punt and if he is foolhardy enough to put his leg into the location of a punt then he has to accept the consequences.
Now perhaps the referee might consider that the goalkeeper might have had time to pull out of the follow through kick and that depends on timing etc and how it presents. Is it a subsequent second swipe or an exaggerated follow through in an unusual direction to deliberately kick an opponent. That would be highly unusual
In this video all are offences
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hP0eC96D0tg
The offenders managed to avoid getting kicked yet if they did get kicked that would be their own fault.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Salvador,
players have to accept the consequences if they act in a foul manner and get stepped on, kicked or run over. A player legally engaged in clearing the ball is not responsible if an opponent while trying to foul him get in the way of a leg swing or a run that was only ever intended to get to or at the ball and accidently connects. Any deliberate attempt to injure is of course additional misconduct. I had a player slide in under an opponent that jumpd up & out of the way but landed on top of him, studs and all into the meaty part of the back and butt . He was irritated at the attempt to foul him so instead of stepping off the player on the ground, the opponent spun his studs in a 180 degree attempt to leave a permanent impression. THAT was a red card AFTER the fact . The player was cautioned for the tackle.. The opponent was upset the other player did NOT get sent off . It was definitely a reckless tackle and perhaps another referee might have decided it was a excessive one but that does not excuse retaliation of driving studs into the lower back. Especially when the whistle had sounded on the slide tackle already!

For your keeper he would have to engage in extra curricular actions to say spin around and kick him by pirouetting in an obvious exaggerated follow through or unnatural action to make contact.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Salvador,
I'm sticking with the same reasoning as given in my previous response.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32506
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.