Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32516

Law 11 - Offside 6/17/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32509

One additional question to this situation please.

Can the referee call the offside immediately after the free kick? (f.e. the pass goes to another part of the penalty area than Costa is)

Or does the referee have to wait until he is directly involved in play?

I mean this part of the rule:
'preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by
clearly obstructing the opponents line of vision.'

Thank you very much!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
There has to be interfering with an opponent for offside to be called. So unless the goalkeeper was unsighted which is unlikely on a cross away from Costa there would be no offside.
Indeed this happens quite a lot where players position themselves in a clear offside position and then wait for the second phase of play to get involved in active play. Law 11 as currently constituted allows for that as it is not an offence to be in an offside position, the first line of Law 11 in the LotG.
I suspect given the location of the free kick in the Costa situation that the referee fully expected a shot at goal hence perhaps his interest in Costas position and his advice to the player.
I think the referee could have ignored having a word with Costa and called what transpired. Who knows. Maybe it is part of some instruction given to the tournament referees by Colina and Co to be proactive, call line of sight offside ?



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Petr ,
yes the referee can BUT the player MUST be in a position, that in the opinion of the referee does in fact coincide with how the law reads!

If the ball is NOT Shot directly at the goal but as a pass across then the position at the time of the shot is likely NOT interfering with the line of sight so unless he physically impedes a defender trying to pursue the ball it is doubtful there is an auto INDFK .

When the NEXT attacker plays the ball the PIOP would then be assessed and his subsequent involvement from that time on if he was STILL in an offside position . His earlier position no longer applies.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

So there are two parts are to being called for offside. First you must be an offside position. Next he must get involved in active play at the moment a teammate touch or plays ball. Once the referee has deemed both parts are met, then offside is called. In your situation, it would be called immediately when the attacker affects the defenders line of vision.




Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32516
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32521

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.