Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32524

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/18/2018

RE: Adult

Nik of Moscow, Moscow Russia asks...

Law 14 says:

'if both the goalkeeper and kicker commit an offence at the same time:
˘if the kick is missed or saved, the kick is retaken and both players cautioned
˘if the kick is scored, the goal is disallowed, the kicker is cautioned and play restarts with an indirect free kick to the defending team'

So, for kicker it is better to miss the penalty?
Where is the logic?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Nik
IFAB & FIFA try hard to cover the more unusual possibilities as best they can.
NO team who infringes the LOTG can be permitted to score a goal
The reason we RETAKE on the MISS is BECAUSE the CHEATING by the DEFENDER worked no goal was scored! Hence the retake!
The reason we do not retake after the PK taker scored is BECAUSE his cheating did work and that can not be permitted hence no retake no chance at another goal instead loss of ball possession .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nik
The logic is in the fact that an offence has been successful and IFAB desire to punish the more serious offence throughout the Laws.
In the goalkeepers case on a save the obvious blatant encroachment has been successful which has denied a goal. The retake addresses that miss and both players are cautioned.
In the case of the goal the goalkeeper has not been successful so it is seen that the kickers illegal action were successful which is a caution and an IDFK.
Also behind this Law is the fact that there are probably really only two main offences that will be committed at a penalty kick by the kicker and a goalkeeper. One is blatant encroachment by the goalkeeper and the other is the kicker stopping illegally at the moment of the kick. Both are now cautions under the Laws. When both happen together and a miss neither team has benefitted so it is two cautions and a retake. On the stopping at the ball offence with the kicker slotting the ball into the other side of the goal uncontested after an early move by the goalkeeper that offence has been successful for the kicker only so it is a caution and an IDFK.
The real message is to not infringe on the penalty kick and then it does not arise.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Nik,
It is not better for the attacker to miss, it is better for them to commit no offence in the first place and score the penalty. Where there would be no logic, would be in deliberately missing a penalty kick, committing an offence yourself and then hoping (because there would be no way of knowing whether it would happen) that the goalkeeper will also commit an offence at the same time so you can retake the penalty.

In any event, it is highly unlikely that a penalty kicker and the goalkeeper would both commit an offence at the same time ( I have never seen it happen) but the IFAB is just covering all eventualities, just in case.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32524
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.