Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32526

Law 5 - The Referee 6/19/2018

RE: pensioner with good eyesight Adult

Mike Macey of Hong Kong, Kowloon China asks...

Did anyone notice that in the 84th minute in the Columbia v Japan game, what was the mistake ??


Answer, the ball hit the linesman and went back into play, but the game was stopped for throw, is that a correct decision, I understand, the ball hitting an official is the same as goal post/corner flag, what is the correct answer please ?

Thanks, Mike

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
It was not a mistake. The AR is off the field of play so when the ball hit him it was over the touchline out of play so the only possible outcome is a throw in restart.
If the ball makes contact with the referee during play it does not stop the game as it is not out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Here the whole ball crossed the touchline and then it was out of play. This is why it is important for the AR to stay off the field. If he is on field and it hits him, then its play on.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mike,
the 5 inch touchline boundary requires ALL of the ball to be completely outside the FOP so there is no overlap
.The AR is suppose to remain far enough away to allow the ball
to exit without it rebounding back into active play as like the CR, the AR is ALSO considered as part of the FOP! In this case the CR opined the ball HAD gone out completely prior to it deflecting back in. As such the throw I is the correct restart.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32526
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.