Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32528

Law 5 - The Referee 6/19/2018

RE: level 1 Adult

mark dowson of middlesbrough, cleveland england asks...

if a player kicks the ball and it hits the referee and goes out of play who gets the throw in or if it goes behind the line is it a corner or goal kick? answers on a postcard marked wish you were here please lol

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mark,

If the ball is in play the player who kicks the ball off the referee if accidental OTHERWISE as a VC it would be a DFK for the opposition and a red card for the player forcing his team to play short) and the ball goes into touch over the touchlines it is a THROW IN for the opposition if it went over the goal line at your end it is a corner kick for the opposition and at the other end a goal kick for the opposition. The referee is considered as part of the playing field !
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
The referee is part of the field of play so it make no difference to the restart if the ball hits the referee before leaving the field of play.
The restart is taken by the opponents of the player who last touched the ball when the whole of the ball passes over the touchline, on the ground or in the air.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mark,
When the ball goes out of play the restart is always to the opponents of the player that touched it last. It makes no difference if it hits the referee (or other match official) before leaving the field of play. As mentioned in another recent question, there should not be a situation where the ball hits a match official other than the referee and remains in play, as they should be far enough off the field to prevent this but it could happen.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32528
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.