Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32559

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/1/2018

RE: Pro Professional

Al Fiero of Syracuse, New York USA asks...

If an opponent has a hand ball in the box and the ball rolls into the goal... is it a self goal or a handball? I would say it should warrant a penalty kick because a hand ball immdiately effects the course of play.
97478

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Al,
if the defender uses his hand or the ball hits his hand and the ball winds up in his goal, it is a goal. Advantage applies of the foul with a caution yellow card for the USB and play on applies if unintentional. NO PK is required if it was a DH . ONLY if the goal does NOT materialize off the advantage, THEN we go with the PK if it WAS inside the defender's PA. Likely a red card for DOGSO as well.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Al
A referee will and should always play advantage. There is no better advantage than to award a goal so if a defender deliberately handles a ball before it enters the goal the referee will award a goal. The failed attempt to stop the ball will also result in a caution.
Now sometimes a referee might stop play too early in which case he has no option but to award a penalty kick. As a goal has been denied by handling the ball the player must be sent off for denying an obvious goal by deliberate handling. That is why advantage can be the better decision.
Also if the handling is not deliberate then there is no offence and the goal must be awarded as there is no offence anyway.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Al,
In this situation the referee should play the advantage, award the goal and if the handling stopped a ball that was heading into the net, caution the offender.

This was spelt out in the following terms in the 2006 FIFA Q&A:

''A player tries to prevent the ball entering the goal by deliberately handling it. The ball, however, enters the goal. What action does the referee take?
He awards the goal and cautions the player for unsporting behaviour.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32559
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.