Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32577

Kicks From The Penalty mark 7/7/2018

RE: recreational Adult

joseph of westiminster, CA USA asks...

I have seen some penalty footage on Youtube where the goalie had already stopped/blocked the ball then ran away from the goal to celebrate. However, the ball then rolled into the goal. What is the world cup official rule on this? The penalty kick is officially over once blocked/stopped or what? please explain. Thanks. BTW, the youtube videos are titled celebrate too early. Thanks, again.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joseph
Thanks for your question .
This is what the Laws of the Game states
** The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any offence.**
So once the ball continues to move on its own momentum after the penalty kick it is still live and in play no matter what combination of goalkeeer, frame of the goal and ground that it touches. So if the ball crosses the goal line under its own momentum a goal is awarded
Here are some examples of legal goals in Kicks from the Penalty Mark
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qsYl0v8jJlM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=r_2hZhHPAHc
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7sknkVtImE8
There has been some myths developed in the game about rebounds, blocked shots, ball hitting the post rebounding off the goalkeeper as not counting as scores. That is totally incorrect. Clearly a kicker cannot touch the ball for a second time yet a goalkeeper can make a double save as required.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32577
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.