Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32586

Law 11 - Offside 7/11/2018

RE: Under 19

Joe Skuza of Geelong, Victoria Australia asks...

Hi, my two questions relates offside Law 11:

1. When a player in his own defensive half plays the ball forward to a teammate in an offside position in the teams attacking half (ie the ball played across halfway line to him) is the offside judgement 'moment' (a)when the ball is played as per usual or (b)when the ball crosses the halfway line and enters the teams attacking half?

2. Although the offside rule does not apply to a goal kick, does it apply to a goalkeeper kick (including from hand) in general play? and if so, does the answer to question 1 apply also?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Joe

offside position is judged at the moment the ball is last touched by the team mate passing the ball not when the ball crosses the midline or when it is received !

The 3 exemptions for offside only occur after the ball is not in play from the restart (Corner kick , throw in and goal lick)

If a keeper has ball possession & the ball is in active play the offside position is a factor the moment he punts/kicks or throws the ball away as his last touch. His teammates position is looked at the moment the ball is last touched not when the ball crosses the midline or when or where it is received. .

KEY point
people and the ball MOVE AFTER the offside position was established or excluded!

in positions where upon receiving the ball they can look fine as not being offside but are guilty of involvement or looking offside but are fine and legal to be involved

Thus players can be offside within their own half as returning to what appears to be a safe position does NOT undo the restriction .

Subsequently if they were not offside positioned thus not restricted a player can move into what looks like an offside position but is 100% legal to do so to receive the ball.
involvement is NOT allowed IF restricted by the earlier position no matter where it occurs
BUT if not restricted then involvement is allowed no matter where it occurs

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joe
Thanks for the question.
Location of the kicker makes no difference to the decision. It is the moment of the kick / touch so in your first question it is the moment the ball is kick ped NOT when it crosses the half way line
On your second question as the ball is already in play so offside applies to a punt or a throw by the goalkeeper. Only on the restarts of goal kick, throw in or corner kick does offside not apply.
So again it is the moment of the punt that matters not when the ball crosses the half way line. If an attacker is onside in his own half at the moment of the punt the player cannot be offside while the opposite of that is true in that if he is positioned offside at the exact moment of the kick the PIOP will be called offside when he interferes with play or an opponent.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Joe,
No matter where the person playing the ball is or where the player in an offside position is, offside position is judged at the moment the ball is touched or played by a team mate.

The same is true when a goalkeeper punts the ball from the hands or throws the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32586
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.