Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32590

Law 13 - Free Kicks 7/13/2018

Sal Maniaci of SCS, MI United States asks...

On a free kick, does the ball have to come out the 18 yard line before it is touched.

Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Sal,
you are 100% correct my friend on any OUTGOING defending free kick from inside the defenders' own PA the ball must completely clear the PA boundary lines to be in active play. This includes Goal Kick INDFKs and DFKs taken anywhere inside the PA including the goal area. .A 2nd touch of the ball inside the PA by either attacker or defender results in a retake. A possible caution if it was tactical or timewasting.

An attacking free kick if a DFK will be a PK and an INDFK can not occur closer than the 6 yard goal area. The Ball does not need to clear the PA and can be immediately played once touched by the 1st kicker
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Sal
On all kicked restarts by the defending team inside the penalty area the ball must exit the area for it to be in play. If the ball does not exit or it is touched by any player inside the penalty area before it leaves the kick is retaken.
Many in the game think that this law only applies to goal kicks. Not so. I have had many players tell me over the years that it was not a goal kick so why did I bring it back for a retake when the ball was touched inside the PA!
There was such an incident in the WC game between England and Croatia late in the game. England was awarded an IDFK for offside inside the penalty area. Pickford the England goalkeeper passsed the ball to a team mate who was close to the GK inside the penalty area and the defender played the ball before it left the area. The AR flagged and the CR correctly ordered a retake of the IDFK.
In the scheme of things it was insignificant as Croatia had retreated away and ignored any challenge for the ball. Interestingly the retake was taken by Pickford from the wrong place outside the penalty area and the referee allowed play to continue. The referee though had to ensure that Law13 was enforced correctly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Sal,
If you're talking about a free kick to a team inside their own penalty area then yes, the ball has to come out of that area before it can legally be touched by another player.

The law says that, ''for a free kick to the defending team in their penalty area [...] the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32590
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32592

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.