Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32592

Law 13 - Free Kicks 7/14/2018

RE: Youth-Adult, rec and competitive

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32590

Here's a video clip of the defensive free kick in their PA.

Sorry, I didn't include the retake position.

https://photos.imageevent.com/barstewart/worldcupreffingvids/englandcroatia/Z7110319Area.MOV

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Barry.
I am assuming this was a goal kick or an INDFK or DFK out by the keeper?

It is a retake because the defender did not permit the ball to leave the PA before playing it!

Restart should be from where it was originally .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Barry,
This is a free kick for the defenders inside the penalty area. Like a goal kick, it needs to leave the penalty area before it is in play.
Law 13 explains this:

Free kick inside the penalty area
Direct or indirect free kick to the defending team:
all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball
all opponents must remain outside the penalty area until the ball is in play
the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area
a free kick awarded in the goal area may be taken from any point inside
that area

If, when a free kick is taken by the defending team from inside its own penalty
area, the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area:
the kick is retaken



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Barry,
Yes, this is indeed a clip of the incident ref McHugh described in his answer to the reference question and his (and our) responses to that previous question still apply. Thanks for sending it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Thanks for the video.
Yes that was indeed the incident. It was a defensive free kick and Maguire of England played the ball inside the penalty area. Note the AR flag and the referee motioning that it did not come out of the area.
The retake was moved forward out of the area by the England goalkeeper Pickford. Rather than insisting that it be taken from inside the penalty area the referee allowed play to continue. I believe that was probably the *best* decision in the circumstances given the time in the game, the score, England keen to get on with play and Croatia non too bothered about the location having dropped off into their own half to defend.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32592
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.