Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32609

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/30/2018

Zluvka of Liberec, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Attacker runs with the ball to the goal. Defender runs just behind him. Attacker deliberately stops the move. Defender charges him from behind because he cannot stop.

Is it attacker's or defender's foul?

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Zluvka
The answer depends on whether the attacker manages to control the ball to keep it within playing distance. If the attacker has the ball under control when he stops then it is a foul by the defender if he charges him from the rear.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Zluvka,
An attacker with the ball under control and/or within playing distance is entitled to stop, change direction, change speed etc. If a defender collides with an attacker, the referee has to decide whether the defender was careless, reckless or used excessive force. If so, a foul has been committed. I suppose that in theory, the referee could also look at the attacker's actions to see if they were at a minimum careless (or something worse) but I doubt that a player stopping on the ball would be considered as an offence in the normal course of events.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32609
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.