Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32616

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/1/2018

RE: Competitive Adult

Nick Broderick of Lewis Lake, Nova Scotia Canada asks...

I'm curious to know your thoughts on the incident in this video at the 1:52 mark (https://matchcenter.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2018-07-31-mls-homegrown-team-vs-tigres-uanl-u20/recap).

Personally, I'm conflicted. On the one hand, the only difference between this and a 'bounce' - which the Laws explicitly mention does not count as the goalkeeper releasing possession - is the speed at which the ball leaves the goalkeeper's hands - instead of 'pushing' the ball to the ground he merely lets it fall by letting loose both hands. On the other hand, it just 'feels' intuitively correct to say the goalkeeper released the ball here.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nick
My opinion on this was it was going to be a drop kick which then at the last moment the goalkeeper changed his mind to go with a throw. So for me possession was not released.
The drop kick punt involves a bounce and kick of the ball so there was a bounce which then technically allows the goalkeeper to hold on to the ball.
So for me the *best* decision should have been no offence. At worst it is doubtful and in the scheme of things this law was never intended to penalise goalkeepers for such actions.
In the past I have not penalised goalkeepers on wet days where the ball had slipped and bounced down and up again on a punt. Referees should be looking for deliberate breaches where the ball is intentionally released to the ground and picked up again.
The appeals by the opponents here is like the appeals for dubious *pass backs*. Teams look for every single opportunity for a turnover of possession or IDFK.
At the Pro level it should not have happened. I wonder what the match observer thought of the referees decision?





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Nick,
I concur with my colleague this was a made up technical glitch call taking away a perfectly GOOD goal by the BLUE and awarding an undeserved opportunity for Yellow. The Keeper looked to do a punt out but kind of of lost control a bit or changed his mind and allowed the ball to bounce which in their 6 seconds of possession is OK under the LOTG. The opposition of course wants a 2nd touch violation but in truth I felt there was no INDFK offence there. I did think there was a SLIGHT possibility there was a DFK for on the release upon rolling the ball out, the ball was in his possession OUTSIDE the PA boundary lines. Only the AR would be in position to see if so and even then to see it as doubtful is certainly feasible. I was unhappy to see VAR used to overrule such a great goal by Blue to award an undeserved opportunity to Yellow . I too would like to be a fly on the wall in the post room discussion after.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32616
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32625

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.