Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32618

Mechanics 8/2/2018

RE: Under 17

bob of los angeles, ca usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32611

I appreciate your input and I will work on my future calls of this manner. I usually do call advantage pretty early if a foul happens and a player keeps possession, so I will delay that call a bit, as well as the running on the field thing.

But I do have a question that got briefly mentioned by Mr. McHugh of an incorrect procedure done by the referee. I know that the penalty for a YC is an IDFK for the opposing team from the spot the YC was given. But in a situation like this, if a delayed yellow card is given for a tactical foul or other form of unsporting behavior that had an advantage rule applied to it, and the referee goes back and gives the offending player the YC before the next restart, would the correct restart be an IDFK for the opponent from the spot of the YC infraction, even if advantage had been applied?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

HinBob
Spot on. The restart in your example should have been a DFK from the location of the foul that merited the yellow card. In many ways it is a rewind of the game back to the incident which without the advantage would have been an immediate free kick and a caution from the location of the offence.
Also well done on your forthright comment and acceptance of the advice. It is never easy to do that and it is part of becoming a better referee. Many referees do not take on board assessment comments or rail against them. The advice is given in the spirit of improvement.
So on advantage give yourself a bit more evaluation time. Does it look like play will continue to the benefit of the fouled against team. There is no urgency for an immediate whistle and that allow the referee to call the foul with the wait and see rather than the pull back from advantage . If play moves on then signal advantage and all us well.
Keep up the good work



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Bob,
sorry I missed answering your initial query I was on a fishing trip! lol We had to evacuate due to a forest fire sigh! oh well soccer is ALMOST as good as fishing! lol
Good on you for seeking to improve your understanding of advantage. It is a great tool and the new one arm signal is the only wrinkle that I have yet to apply as I two hand shove a lot lol The difference of CALLING & SIGNALING advantage as to APPLYING advantage is subtle but has more to do with delaying the whistle to await an outcome as opposed to one actually developing into a scoring or attacking opportunity.
In around the PA area we see a foul or situation that requires a whistle but we wait a few seconds to see what the ball does? Does it rebounds to a free attacker for a shot or is redirected into the goal?
Here we applaud ourselves for not doing anything at all but awaiting the outcome. We EFFECTIVELY used the advantage CONCEPT but it was never signled or spoken.
Take the case where a hard foul by 15 black on the left touchline requiring a card but an overlapping red attacker or the #12 red fouled player bounces up in pursuit to carry forth the attack we might yell '15 black in the book!'and then signal the advantage by yelling, ADVANTAGE! and arm extension after analyzing the effectiveness then yell PLAY ON! once you are NOT coming back to the point of the foul. This shows you SAW the foul but choose to allow play rather than restart with a free kick. At the next natural stoppage go with that restart, or if the player due to be shown a card should involve himself in actual play, you stop play, to show the card. INDFK from that point.

It is often difficult to assimilate or accept advice and truthfully not ALL advice is spot on even if well meaning . Opinions exist on many ways of handing certain situations. An open mind and utilizing other experiences is good but what works for you? Good positioning & understanding of tactical awareness helps in evaluating potential and promotes continued play but then a few seconds of delay and the ball ping pongs into a goal, you can look like a genius for NOT blowing the whistle. lol As my colleague Ref McHugh states keep up the good work!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32618
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32623

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.