Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32626

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/4/2018

RE: Aldi miniroos Under 11

Austin of Ocean Reef, Western Australia Australia asks...

Im a goalie. I saved the ball then put the ball down to kick. An opposition player ran at me so I picked the ball up. The referee gave an indirect free kick against me from inside the area. What are the rules?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Austin,
The keeper is permitted 6 seconds minimum to have control of the ball in his hands within his PA where the opposition cannot challenge him for possession. IN that time you can move about carrying it or bouncing it inside your PA BUT because you set the ball deliberately on the ground you have voluntarily released the ball back into active play and you can NO longer use your hands to pick the ball up a 2nd time UNTIL another player has touched that ball. By doing so you have in fact violated the handling restrictions and a INDFK is a correct restart even if it seems harsh. The players CANNOT prevent you from setting the ball down or tossing it to say punt it but once you set it or roll it on the ground it is free for the taking
Cheers


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tb1e27OyhZk

Several of these clips are old but ONLY 1 of the ten goals is legal under todays LOTG.
Can you figure out which one? lol hint you know because you did so!
Number two WAS legal for a brief time but no longer. The LOTG now state a keeper CAN NOT be interfered with in his release of the ball, while in his hands or being punted or bounced




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Austin,
The part of the law that covers this scenario is the following, extracted from Law 12:

''An indirect free kick is awarded if a goalkeeper, inside their penalty area, commits any of the following offences:
[...]
touches the ball with the hands after: releasing it and before it has touched another player''

So the referee has made the correct decision here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Austin once a goalkeeper releases the ball to the ground out of his control he may not touch the ball again with his hands. To do so is penalised by an IDFK



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32626
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.