Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32645

Law 15 - The Throw In 8/13/2018

RE: Adult

Fathi of Ternate, North maluku Indonesia asks...

If the throw-in ball touchs opponent's goal keeper hand and then enter the goal, will it counts a goal..?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Fathi,
Yes, this would count as a goal. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in but if it is touched by any other player (in this case, the goalkeeper) then it has not gone directly into the goal and would count.

In the past, the FIFA Q&A's had the following:

''A player takes a throw-in. He throws the ball directly to his goalkeeper who touches the ball in attempting to stop it entering the goal. The ball enters the goal, however. What action does the referee take?
The advantage is allowed and a goal is awarded.''

Although this refers to a goalkeeper touching the ball from a throw-in taken by a team mate, the exact same would apply to a throw-in touched by the opposing goalie.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Fathi
Yes a goal should be awarded. Once the goalkeeper touched the ball that met the requirements of a touch which can be by any player.
Had the goalkeeper know the Law he should not touch the ball and the restart would be a goal kick from the opponents throw in. If it was his own teams TI the restart would be a corner kick without a touch.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Fathi,
If an opponent is doing the throw in he can not score directly. There MUST be another touch on the ball prior to it completely crossing the goal line under the crossbar between the posts. A smart keeper could allow the ball to enter the goal unimpeded with no touch and be awarded a goal kick out! However if he decides to try and handle the ball or even if the ball deflects off ANY part of his body then enters the goal that would qualify as a legal goal with a kick off restart.

On the reverse side of it if it was a throw in to ones OWN keeper the illegal handling would normally be an indfk at the point of hand/ball contact BUT if he misplayed it into the goal we would apply advantage and award the goal .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32645
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.