Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32660

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 8/20/2018

RE: Other

Ákos of Budapest, Pest Hungary asks...

Greetings!
I would like to know, if a goalkeeper can score a goal by direcly tossing the ball into the opposing team's goal.
i have found older answers for this question, but i would like to know if is it still like that or is it changed since then.
Thank you for your answer.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Akos
No change as there has been no need to. The ball is in play so a goal can be scored while the ball is in play and no offence has been committed by the scoring team. If the goalkeeper can throw the ball from his penalty area all the way into the opponents goal the referee will award a goal.
It is a mighty long throw and I have never seen it happen or even close. At best maybe 20+ yards into the opponents half is the furthest I have seen a throw
In small sided games with reduced field sizes it is usually not allowed as a goal by a special competition rule.
On a regular pitch the goal is good if it can be done. I doubt it.
Here is a throw being cited as the longest GK throw
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rQLeVRqulb0
If he could have thrown the ball into the opponents goal the goal would be awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Akos,
chances are a pointy ball manager would be thinking with an arm like that make him an offer to play quarterback. lol legal but unlikely.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Akos,
Nothing has changed in this regard since the earlier answers you saw. It is still the case that if a keeper were capable of throwing the ball far enough (which would be highly unusual except on a reduced-size pitch) the goal would be legal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32660
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.