Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32675

High School 8/30/2018

RE: High School

Mike of Chicago , Illinois USA asks...

So a player in possession of the ball commits an offense (Dissent) while ball is still in play and team in clear possession, the center referee stops play to issue a YC to team in possession. What is the correct restart?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

H Mike
In NFHS the restart is an IDFK
With recent changes to FIFA laws there had been some confusion. It was confirmed as no change. It is also an IDFK from wehere the dissent took place.
In essence no change to the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mike,
if a referee actually stop play SOLEY to discipline a dissenting player for mouthing off it is an INDFK from where the player is. If he was off the FOP then on the touchline or goal line for FIFA but I am unsure if in high school it might be at ball location?. If his team had possession too bad so sad.

If the OTHER team had possession with the ball in an attack phase I would ignore the dissent if the dissenter was far away from active play. Where as if he was inside his own PA there would be no reason to delay awarding the INDFK!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mike,
In the situation you describe, the correct restart is an indirect free kick.

Under NFHS Rules dissent by a player is classed as misconduct.

The rules further state that an indirect free kick is awarded:

''if the game is stopped for misconduct of a player, and no other restart takes precedence''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32675
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.