Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32692

High School 9/7/2018

RE: Competitive High School

Moshe of WASHINGTON, DC United States asks...

We all know that if the defender deliberately play the ball to the attacker in an offside position,
the attacker in question is not in an offside position.

A situation I had in a high school game today. I was working as an AR.
Team A attacks, player A5 kicks the ball across the field to player A6 who is in a clear offside position. The ball goes past all the defenders and just the GK is able to play the ball from team B. While the ball is still in the air, goalkeeper B1 comes out and tries to grab the ball, but fumbles it. Attacker A scores.

Should the AR call it as an offside or not?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Moshe, who is ATTACKER A?

if there is an attacker A6 offside at the time of the shot by his teammate A5 if the keeper is attempting a save and the ball deflects to that restricted offside attacker A6 that is called gaining an advantage. Deliberate saves do NOT reset the opponents offside restrictions. OFFSIDE INDFK OUT!

If a shot by A5 occurs and an offside player A6 interferes with the keeper as in challenging or blocking his line of sight that is an OFFSIDE INDFK OUT for interfering with an opponent.


If the OFFSIDE player A6 DOES NOT interfere with the keeper and does not play the ball then if the Keeper drop the ball or deflects A5 shot to a different onside attacker who scores there is no offside we have a goal with kick off. . The fact the shot by A5 was a pass to the A6 player is not an auto offside call unless A6 becomes involved in the actual play. As the offside law states it is NOT an offence to be IN an offside position. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Moshe,
I think this is another one of those that is difficult to call without seeing the actual incident. For instance, was the player A6 in a position to be seen as interfering with the goalkeeper? In other words, did they obstruct the keeper's line of vision or movement, or challenge for the ball?

Then there is the question of whether the goalkeeper's actions can be seen as a deliberate save. As ref Dawson says, if you judge this to be a deliberate save by the goalie, the offside should still be given.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Moshe
My opening point is that a save or rebound does not reset offside. Second point is whether the goalkeepers actions could be seen as a deliberate play with no interference from an opponent in an offside position
So the test here is whether the goalkeepers actions were a save / rebound and whether Attacker A6 interfered with the goalkeeper in his playing of the ball.
If this was a shot and a rebound there would be no question that it is offside or if the PIOP challenged the GK for the ball on a cross.
I would say that if the PIOP was right beside the GK and the ball drops directly to the PIOP I would say every chance that it is offside for interfering with an opponent. Rarely do attackers stand idly by when the ball is close.
If on the other hand the PIOP is stood yards away, the goalkeeper comes for a cross, catches it, drops it and fumbles it forward a distance then not offside.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32692
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.