Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32743

Law 11 - Offside 9/25/2018

Brian of Brooklyn, NY USA asks...

Hi Gents,

Off-side questions.

1) Attacker in an off-side position runs back, tackles defender and comes away with the ball. Assuming the defender either had control or attempted to play the ball, is this offisde or not?

2) Two attackers have legally broken through the defence. Attacker A who is ahead of attacker B shoots at goal, hits the framework. The ball rebounds to B. Is B offside?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brian
1. Answers depends on how the defender got the ball and how long he had control / possession of the ball. If the ball was played by an attacker and the player in an offside position at the moment of that play then challenging a defender for the ball that would be offside.
It would not be offside if
A. The ball was played to the defender by a team mate
B. The defender had unfettered control of the ball for a period of time before being challenged
2. As Attacker B us behind the ball at the moment of the shot he is in an onside position so there is no possible offside. It would only be offside if B was ahead of A at the moment of th shot



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Brian,

it is not a infringement to be offside position but we JUDGE the involvement aspect as either touching the ball physically or interfering with the opponent in some OBVIOUS fashion.

Although proximity can be enough on occasion to classify as involvement we look at how the opponent is affected by WHAT the PIOP does.

We could also consider if there is a reasonable chance of a collision?

Think on these scenarios.

A defender has an unobstructed view of a chest high ball but is UNAWARE a PIOP is closing him down from behind the defender takes the ball off his chest and controls it to drop to his feet just as the PIOP streaks by sticks in a foot stripes the ball out and away he goes.

A defender has an unobstructed view of a gently rolling ball but is UNAWARE a PIOP is standing quietly directly 1 yard behind. The defender takes the ball and controls with his feet wondering whether to pass or dribble just as the PIOP streaks by sticks in a foot stripes the ball out and away he goes.

Now the argument made here is did the defender simply last play a ball and the PIOP opponent ONLY participated after control was established and did nothing to prevent this? Does the fact there was no challenge from the opponent make the steal ok or is his proximity just too close to ignore?

Would not a fast incoming PIOP be sufficient to CALL offside to prevent a possible collision? Was not the challenge occurring the closer he got to that ball?

I would be inclined to award offside in both these situations.
Both are using their offside position to gain an advantage over their opponents by challenging just as they are playing the ball

Now if the distance between the players is greater & there is lots of time to make a play on the ball & they are not rushed by a challenge or too early an attempt to BE involved then the direct deliberate actions by the defenders will reset the PIOP to full active status and they can sneak in to grab the ball given there was no pressure applied no challenge was there to prevent them playing that ball away.

In your B scenario the attacker B is free to play ANY rebound because he was ONSIDE at the time of the shot . In other wards the ball was closer to the opposition's goal then attacker B when attacker A (his team mate LAST touched the ball)
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Brian,
In your first scenario, you do not say how the defender got the ball, how long they'd had it, what level of control/possession they had exercised over it, nor where the attacker was when the ball was last played by a team mate. Depending on all these factors, there might or might not be an offside offence here.

For me, ref McHugh has given an accurate summation of the factors to consider in making the offside offence determination.

In your second scenario, based on your description there is no offside offence as attacker B was not closer to the opponent's goal line than the ball when the ball was last played by a team mate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32743
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.