Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32759

Law 11 - Offside 9/29/2018

RE: Fa registered under 14s team Under 14

Ralph of luton, beds england asks...

If a player is running back from an offside position, not interfering with the ball, and a shot comes in and the keeper saves it. The said player then turns (the player does not get on the way of the keeper or his sight of the shot) an shoots and scores. Is he offside as the keeper has touched the ball and therefore made him active again?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Ralph,
hmmm YES he is still restricted thus offside by his involvement if the rebound or deflection of that ball is off a deliberate SAVE!
The referee must see the keeper have actual ball possession then release the ball this sounds as if the PIOP gains an advantage off a rebound?
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Ralph,
If the player you refer to was in an offside position when the initial shot came in then according to Law 11, as soon as he touches the ball, the player has committed an offside offence under the category of:

''gaining an advantage by playing the ball or interfering with an opponent when it has:
- rebounded or been deflected off the goalpost, crossbar, match official or an opponent
- been deliberately saved by any opponent''

The player does not become active because the keeper has touched the ball, he becomes active because he (the player) touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ralph,

Law 11 has a few complications. If a defending player (including the keeper) plays the ball, this nullifies offside. And the definition of 'played' is pretty brutal to defenders - you know when a defender makes a desperate lunge to stop a ball and they just get a toe on it? That's played.

But a deflection does not nullify offside - ie a ball kicked into a defender who makes no attempt to play it themselves.

The exception is if it's a shot being blocked - that counts as a deflection, even if it's a deliberate action.

So if the keeper is deliberately playing the ball with their hands - ie a lofted ball into the PA, and he bats it down, then that would be played. But if it's a shot going at or near the goal, then it counts as a save, thus a deflection.

So, assuming we're talking about a shot being taken towards the goal and the keeper has blocked the shot, and the ball has bounced away to the opponent, then this falls under 'gaining an advantage from being in an offside position' (basically, touch the ball after it deflects off an opponent or the goalpost/crossbar), and would be offside. That's assuming the player was in an offside position when the shot was taken.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ralph
Yes this is offside for *gaining an advantage by being in that position*
The save by the goalkeeper does not reset offside so the player in an offside position is restricted from participating in play until the opponents gain unfettered control of the ball.
On the line of sight offside question we can take it that as the goalkeeper has made the save that the interference may have been minimal or not present.
I had one of these this week with an attacker in an offside position in front of goal. Shot was taken by a team mate and the goalkeeper made a good save with the PIOP following up on the rebound. I flagged for offside the moment the PIOP interfered with play. As it happened I did not have enough visibility of any line of sight offside other than the PIOP was some 12 yards plus away from the GK. I think if the shot had gone straight into the goal there would have been no debate about line of sight offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32759
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.