Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32762

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/30/2018

RE: Adult

Melwyn of MUMBAI, MAHARASHTRA India asks...

During normal time, the attacking team has been awarded a penalty kick as the defender pulled down the attacker in the penalty area during his run towards the goal. Whilst the penalty kick is been taken, can the defending team swap their regular keeper with an onfield player? If Yes, what happens in this case after the kick has been taken - do the players swap their positions again?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Melvyn
Yes the goalkeeper can be swapped with an onfield player at any time provided it is done at a stoppage in play and with the permission of the referee.
So at a penalty kick the team can request a goalkeeper change which should be acceded to by the referee. The players must change jerseys and the new goalkeeper must remain in goal until the next stoppage whatever that may be which can be the resultant kick off if a goal is scored, a goal-kick if the ball goes wide or if play continues with a save until the ball goes out of play again.
It only happens at a Underage where a team has decided to play a better goalkeeper or shot stopper outfield. I have seen it happen in Kicks from the Penalty Mark but never for a penalty kick in a game. The stats on conversion of penalty kicks during a game is quite high with first class goalkeepers so the benefits of a once off change is questionable. It is worth considering at KFTPM.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Melwyn,

Yes, the keeper can be swapped with another player (or even a named substitute, as long as there are valid substitutions remaining). The referee needs to be informed first, and the new keeper must wear the keeper jersey. Afterwards they can swap again - but only at a stoppage, and only with the permission of the referee.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32762
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32769

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.