Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32771

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/2/2018

RE: Competitive Under 17

Glen Brizendine of Youngsville, Nc Usa asks...

Penalty Kick:
1st identified kicker steps up takes the PK and misses. The AR signals a Keeper infraction (off the line early) kick to be re-taken.
Question: CAN the team taking the kick now identify a new kicker to take the second PK (the re-take), or is the original kicker that missed the 1st attempt required by Law to take the 2nd attempt ?

I allowed the kicker to be changed, the opposing team did not object but I have wondered if I was proper.
Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Glen ,
Spot on mate.
Yes a new PK taker is permitted!
Any ELIGIBLE player on the FOP
or if a substitute is permitted can be identified to take the kick provided there are no unusual bylaws preventing substitutes.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Glen
Yes the penalty kicker can be changed and your decision was correct. It is somewhat unusual yet Law 14 does not prevent it. Any kicker who is eligible to take a kick and who has not yet taken a kick can do so even on a retake.
BTW the goalkeeper MUST be caution on the encroachment causing a retake. It is a mandatory caution.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Glen,
You made the right decision. There is nothing in the law stating (or even implying) that if a penalty kick is to be retaken, the same player has to take it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32771
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.