Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32772

Other 10/3/2018

RE: Competitive Under 18

Glen Brizendine of Youngsville, NC USA asks...

I asked a question yesterday 32771 re: penalty kick you answered it BUT the url keeps coming back as an error so I cant see the answer. :(. Thanks for checking into this.

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

HI Glen,
it appears we may be under attack by a virus attached to an email sent in disguised as a question. Sorry about the delay Here is a copy off the back page hopefully the site will be cleared soon.

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play

Glen Brizendine a Referee from Youngsville Nc Usa regarding: Competitive Under 17

Penalty Kick:
1st identified kicker steps up takes the PK and misses. The AR signals a Keeper infraction (off the line early) kick to be re-taken.
Question: CAN the team taking the kick now identify a new kicker to take the second PK (the re-take), or is the original kicker that missed the 1st attempt required by Law to take the 2nd attempt ?

I allowed the kicker to be changed, the opposing team did not object but I have wondered if I was proper.
Thanks


Answer Submitted By: Richard Dawson...


HI Glen ,
Spot on mate.
Yes a new PK taker is permitted!
Any ELIGIBLE player on the FOP
or if a substitute is permitted can be identified to take the kick provided there are no unusual bylaws preventing substitutes.
Cheers

Answer Submitted By: Joe McHugh...

Hi Glen
Yes the penalty kicker can be changed and your decision was correct. It is somewhat unusual yet Law 14 does not prevent it. Any kicker who is eligible to take a kick and who has not yet taken a kick can do so even on a retake.
BTW the goalkeeper MUST be caution on the encroachment causing a retake. It is a mandatory caution.



Answer Submitted By: Peter Grove...

Hi Glen,
You made the right decision. There is nothing in the law stating (or even implying) that if a penalty kick is to be retaken, the same player has to take it.



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32772
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.