Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32775

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/4/2018

RE: Competive Adult

trevor isaacs of Saint AUgustine, FL USA asks...

Forward gets a break away one on one with keeper, ball is on the ground
1. Keeper goes to ground, tips the ball away from forward, forward's momentum causes him to crash into keeper's knee, forward goes down...Referee call a penalty. Referee says he saw keeper's hands trip the forward.

2. Same situation, if the keeper while going to ground tips the ball and in the same motion while tipping the ball away from forward's feet, forward's feet comes in contact with keeper's hand and falls over..is that a penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Trevor
1. If the referee saw the goalkeepers arm / hand trip the attacker in an attempt to play the ball then it is a penalty kick.
2. If the goalkeeper plays the ball and there is subsequent contact on the attacker by the goalkeeper that is not a foul yet rather a coming together after the ball has been played by the goalkeeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson



Hi Trevor
the keeper is permitted the use of his hands to play the ball inside the PA so it is not inconceivable the hands will contact the opponent as the keeper makes a save in deflecting the ball away. If the keeper gets to the ball first, we generally determine that as mostly incidental contact UNLESS the keeper has added additional efforts to say making a fist as in a punching motion in following through to strike an opponent on the pretext of getting to the ball first or grabbing the jersey, leg or ankle after to hold the opponent down so he can not pursue the ball.

If the keeper is making contact with the striker before the ball it is likely a tripping or holding foul and thus a PK. . Even though a strike may indeed get tangled & fall over or on top of a keeper it is not an automatic foul on either. Each time we look at the way they come together, ball possession, timing & safety . If a red card is necessary that would be in the opinion of the referee an excessively forceful challenge but so long as the attempt is a reasonable challenge there will be no DOGSO at best a caution for USB Or reckless but the PK is generally punishment enough.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Trevor,
As your first scenario rather hints at, this kind of situation hinges on how the referee saw the contact. It's similar in many respects to an outfield player who executes a slide tackle, subsequent to which the player being tackled makes contact with the defender's outstretched leg and goes to ground.

In either case, it can be seen as a legitimate action which plays the ball, followed by an unfortunate and almost unavoidable 'coming together' which is not a foul, or it can be seen as a careless (or reckless) action which is an offence.

My colleagues have given various factors that could influence how these kinds of things might be seen but in the end, which way it is seen is very much a matter of the referee's judgement call.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32775
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.