Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32776

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/4/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello!

Defender passes the ball to his goalkeeper (back-pass). Goalkeeper kicks this ball. After this kick ball touches goalkeeper's hand.

I am thinking about this. In the penalty area it is offence (back-pass rule). But outside the penalty area not. (handling is not intetional).

Am I right? :-)

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Petr,
we should only enforce deliberate breeches of the LOTG. I would ignore either touch as accidental or a miskick unless the keeper tried to pick the ball up after that touch or had used his hands to say make a save by swatting at the ball out from goal.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
Yes we only punish deliberate intentional handling if the ball which can also be applied to the deliberate kick to the goalkeeper.
If the ball rears up off a kick and hits the goalkeepers hand / arm we play on. However if the goalkeeper makes a play at the ball with his hand after the kick then we punish that with an IDFK



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Petr,
I think that perhaps because this portion of the law concentrates on the deliberateness of the kick to the keeper, it neglects to touch on the issue of the deliberateness of the keeper's use of the hands. Normally in the game, for any contact between ball and hand, it has to be deliberate before it is an offence. A referee applying the spirit of the general principle regarding handling to this scenario, would not see an offence. Having said that, if a referee did decide to penalise it I think you could not actually say it was a technical mistake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32776
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.