Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32782

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/8/2018

RE: Adult

Fuzesya Anatol of Sighet, MM Romania asks...

Hello! https://www.digisport.ro/fotbal/liga-1/live-video-text-astra-cfr-cluj-2100-digi-sport-1-brigada-de-liga-campionilor-la-giurgiu-533489
Why was the goal disallowed? It is minute 2 of the game. Thank you!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Fuzesya
From the video it is not clear. I cannot see a foul here.
I could surmise that the referee did not like the contact between the scorer and the goalkeeper or that the arm made contact with the ball in which case he awarded a direct free kick at the location of the contact.
Please remember that the referee has one view of this is real time not multiple views from different angles using video
This is a highly experienced FIFA official and would not disallow a goal lightly.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Fuzesya Anatol,
Well it certainly is not offside it was either leading with the arm into the head of the keeper or they believed the ball went in off that same arm.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Fuzesya,
Looking at the several replays from different angles it seems to me that the ball comes off either the player's shoulder or possibly upper arm, so I suspect that the referee has seen this as a handling offence.

It appears to come off a point very close to where the seam of the shirt would be. This is what is often seen as the demarcation line between the shoulder and the upper arm so if the referee saw this use of the arm, that could explain why he disallowed it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32782
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.