Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32786

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/9/2018

RE: All Adult

Eduardo of christmas, fl usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32766

Please clarify the statement in LAW 13. Am I understanding correctly that the second bullet below would only occur if the free kick left the penalty area and then came back in? Also, it doesn't have to be deliberate, any handling would apply correct:
If, after the ball is in play, the kicker touches the ball again before it has
touched another player an indirect free kick is awarded, if the kicker
deliberately handles the ball:
a direct free kick is awarded
a penalty kick is awarded if the offence occurred inside the kickers penalty
area unless the kicker was the goalkeeper in which case an indirect free kick
is awarded

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Eduardo
You are correct. The ball must first leave the penalty area for it to be in play so if it comes back in it is a penalty kick for deliberate handling or an IDFK if the goalkeeper handles the ball.
It is a pretty unusual occurrence and the only time I expect it to test a referee is in the case of a strong wind where the ball leaves the penalty area and it is blown back in.
If it leaves the penalty area as normal then it is just part of play which all referees would see as regular deliberate handling.
Also it has to meet the conditions of deliberate handling not just any handling. The same would apply to a goalkeeper although the conditions of handling the ball deliberately would be less onerous as the GK most likely will use his hands anyway.
In the v not that the kicker touches the ball for a second time after it has been put into play then that is a double touch offence. We pun So the more serious offence if it is deliberate handling.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Edwardo, you are spot on mate. The ball is NOT in play until it completely leaves the defending PA boundary lines into the FOP. If the ball was touched BEFORE it exited it would be retaken. Cards are only a consideration if done as a form of USB. This applies to ANY free kick outgoing from the defenders own PA be it a goal kick , a DFK from a foul or say an INDFK from the offside. If a strong wind blew the ball back and the kicker was to play the ball ahead of anyone else it would a INDFK for a second touch. . If the kicker was NOT The keeper then if it was deliberately handled inside the PA it would be a DFK thus PK. Where we could get into a gray area if it was the keeper who deliberately used his hands inside the PA on the weird occurrence it could only be an INDFK if he was the kicker as a 2nd touch ahead of any other, to punish him for receiving the ball deliberately kicked to him by a teammate would not fit the occasion.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Eduardo,
The provision you refer to is a general provision applicable to all free kicks, it is not specific to free kicks taken by the defending team inside its penalty area. On any free kick, no matter where it is taken, if before another player touches the ball, the taker handles the ball deliberately (and as stated, it has to be deliberate) this results in a direct free kick or penalty kick, depending on where the handling occurs.

It is only if the free kick were being taken inside the defending team's own penalty area that it would have to leave and then re-enter the penalty area for a penalty kick to occur.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32786
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.