Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32787

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/9/2018

RE: Select Other

Jeff McCaslin of Gainesville, Virginia USA asks...

When the ball is played back to the keeper by his own team and he handles it within his own goal box, where is the restart? At the spot of the infraction? Even if that is on the goal line? thanks, Jeff

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeff
The restart is from where the goalkeeper used his hand/s to touch the ball from a deliberate kick by his team mate to the GK.
If the offence happens inside the goal area the restart is on the 6 yards line directly opposite from where the offence took place. Defenders must be 10 yards from the ball or on the goal line between the goal posts.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jeff,
just a cautionary note it is not illegal to play the ball back to your keeper ONLY if you deliberately KICK the ball to him or directly throw it in to him. Only then is he not permitted the use of his hands on that ball. It is an INDFK from where he touches it with his hands if inside the penalty area, it is a DFK if outside the PA, it still is an INDFK inside the 6 yard goal area EXCEPT the ball restart location is altered to a point straight back on the goal area line that parallels the goal line so NO INDFK can occur closer than 6 yards away. When there is less than 10 yards distance the defenders are permitted to line up under the crossbar along the goal line BUT must still be 10 yards away in ANY other direction. I watch many of these even at the elite level performed incorrectly.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jeff,
First I think we need to clarify a couple of points in your question. If by 'played back to the keeper' you mean 'deliberately kicked (in any direction) to the keeper' and if by 'goal box' you mean 'goal area' (also known as the six yard area) then according to the law, the resulting indirect free kick is not taken at the point of infraction, it is:

''taken from the nearest point on the goal area line which runs parallel to the goal line.''

As my colleagues have mentioned, when such a kick is being taken, the defenders must remain:

''at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball, unless they are on their own goal line between the goalposts''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32787
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.