Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32825

High School 10/22/2018

RE: High School High School

Ron of Milwaukee, WI USA asks...

Scenario: Opposing players' feet/legs tangled resulting in the defender going down and the ball hitting his foot resulting in an own goal. It appears on film that both players were playing fairly and the entanglement was unintentional. Neither player had a size advantage over the other. The goal was disallowed sighting penalty on the offensive player. Is this a foul?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Ron,
well without seeing the event tough for us to tell if the attacker was more at fault? Obviously the referees of the match decided it was a foul otherwise the goal would have counted so it was! We do not look at the intent we simply try to gauge if the actions taken are fair or unfair? For a foul the referee must see the attacker was at the very least careless in his attempt to play the ball an created the foul be it a trip push charge who can say. If it was only a coming together or a legal charge then the goal would count but the referees would have to view it in that light . With no goal allowed they took the attacker to task for fault. Their match their decision their reputation.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ron
Difficult to say. Rarely in challenges with contact that one of the players is not at fault. Unintentional is not a defence in the rules. Referees tend to look at the situation and decide based on what presents. The late *challenger* may get called
This may have looked like a foul by the attacker to the referee hence the call. Perhaps another referee could have seen it as a foul by the defender and therefore a penalty kick.
Over many years of officiating I have seen plenty 50\50 calls that can go unpunished or go either way defending on what the referee saw.
I recall many years ago two strong players leap at the ball from a distance simultaneously and both arrived at the ball at the same time. Both were guilty in my opinion of a foul. Probably the best decision was a dropped ball yet that is a very rare call in the game in challenge situations. I had spoken to one of the players previously so I called the foul against him. He did not like it yet it was a situation that I was not going to ignore and serious enough for it not to be dropped ball.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ron,
Entanglement was unintentional - by whose opinion? Yours? Or is that what the referee said afterwards?

My point in that is - you may think it's a completely unintentional, 50-50 thing. Yes, sometimes things happen that are completely accidental. The minimum threshold for a foul is careless, and very few things are completely accidental - that is, completely and reasonably avoidable. But, it happens.

But, the referee was not only closer but had a different angle - and probably a better angle. The referee may have argued that the attacker was a little careless (acted without due care) - perhaps the attacker was slightly later in the challenge, or got the back of the defender's leg, for instance. If so, a foul is correct. If it's just a complete unfortunate accident attributable to nobody, then the goal should have stood.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32825
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.