Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32849

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/27/2018

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32843

Ref of Syd asked a question regarding subsequent event following an IDFK in the opponents penalty area.

Have we all assumed the IDFK did not have a second touch by a teammate?

Only thing mentioned by Ref of Syd regarding the taking of the IDFK is that 'it is taken'. Can we not presume it is taken correctly. I ask as a number of the panel suggested that a goal was not denied, which influences how this incident is treated.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Russell,
I did mention that the DH had to be the second touch but yes if the INDFK already had a double tap then it is a DOGSO and red card. The way the question was worded implied it was kicked directly towards the goal. In point of fact I have seen this on occasion and watched in admiration at a keeper who stood aside to let the ball go into the goal recognizing the referee had his hand up signalling it was an INDFK !
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
I did suggest in the original answer that perhaps the player saw a touch that caused him to handle the ball deliberately. The question though was posed in a way that it was an IDFK so a goal could not be scored directly. As to presuming anything that is not part of referees decision making. If we see the IDFK was touched before the shot or that the shot was deflected slightly then it is a red card and a penalty kick.
One of the most important decisions that a referee has to make is to decide whether to dismiss a player or not. The team plays short, the player misses the next game and probably a fine. It cannot be done on a presumption. Either the referee saw the IDFK being touched or not and that will guide the decision making.
I watched an English Championship game involving Leeds at the weekend. The equalizing goal was a deliberate handling. It happened at speed and to the match officials it looked like it could have come off the players chest. Replays showed it was his arm that played the ball into the goal. There was I would say at least 8/9 simultaneous appeals by Forest players for handling. The referee went across to the AR and both could have presumed based on reactions, the way the goal was scored there was every chance that it was handling which was a caution, the goal disallowed and a DFK restart. The goal was awarded as nothing could be presumed.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1NiZ7MsieJ4



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Russell,
The question makes no mention of a second touch, nor does it hint at one. Speaking for myself, I did not answer it as if there were a second touch.

The whole tenor of the question as far as I could tell, centered on whether only a yellow card should be given since a goal was not denied (as you can't score directly from an indirect free kick).



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32849
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.