Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32857

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/29/2018

RE: Adult

Ref of Sydney, Nsw Aus asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32843

So saying it was deliberate and is the second touch.

Keith Hackett and Mark Hasley say different to your thoughts.

I'm thinking along your lines.


Keith Hacket Tweet
Tim - here is why it is a red card and penalty kick. If the ball deflects off the defender you are awarding a goal. Therefore the defender deliberately handling the ball has touched it and hence committed the Denial of an obvious goal!! Hence red card and PK
Mark Halsey Tweet.
It would only be a yellow card if when a player deliberately handles the ball, and a goal is still scored

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi,
I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'it was deliberate and is the second touch.' If you're talking about the handling, it has to be assumed to be deliberate for any question of what decision should be given, to arise but it was not a second touch. A 'second touch' offence is where the free kick taker touches the ball again before another player has done so. In this example there is no 'second touch', just a touch by an opposing team player.

I firmly believe the two individuals you cite are wrong in their conclusions as to how this offence should be treated and the key to why they are wrong is there in Keith Hackett's own words. He says, ''if the defender denies an obvious goal by commuting an handling offence it is penalty kick and red card!'' (He obviously meant to say 'committing' not 'commuting'). But that's the thing - the defender did not deny an obvious goal as a goal cannot be scored from an IFK. It's exactly the same principle as in the FIFA Q&A answer I referenced in the earlier question and which says that if a defender handles a throw-in that was headed into the net, there would be no red card because ''The player does not prevent a goal or an obvious goalscoring opportunity since a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

My colleague sums up the question nicely!

You are indeed thinking correctly if you choose to think along our lines!


Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
As we said a goal CANNOT be scored directly from an indirect free kick so no goal has been denied. In certain circumstances a goal scoring opportunity could be denied if the handling say prevented an opponent from scoring a goal.
That though was not the scenario that was presented.
Only correct decision in Law is a penalty kick and a caution as nothing has been denied. Indeed one could argue more strongly for no card at all!
What I make of the answers from the two retired senior referees is that if the handling is unsuccessful from stopping the ball it results in a goal and a caution by playing advantage. That is fine. Their argument it would seem is that the successful handling has prevented the ball from going into the goal AFTER the handling so a goal has been denied.
That is a sort of reverse logic thinking as the handling has put the ball in play which then as the ball did not go into the goal AFTER the handling it is a goal denied.
The Laws of the Game does not use reverse logic or backwards reasoning. As Referee Grove already said in a previous FIFA Q&A it clearly stated that a goal cannot be scored from a throw in with the answer for deliberate handling stopping the ball entering the goal at a throw in was a penalty kick and a possible caution. The FIFA answer clearly stated ** The player does not prevent a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity since a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. **
The same can be said for an Indirect Free Kick.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32857
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.