Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32873

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/12/2018

RE: Competive Adult

Derrick Joseph of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

If the goalkeeper handles the ball which is outside the penalty area while standing inside the penalty area, is it an offense of a hand ball?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Derrick,
Basically, yes it is. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is, it only matters where the ball is. So long as the ball is completely outside the penalty area (so not even the tiniest sliver of it is still overhanging the line) it is a handling offence for the keeper to touch it with the hands.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Derrick
Yes that is deliberate handling. It makes no difference where the goalkeeper is located just the location of the ball and the location of the hand.
If all the ball is over all the penalty area line the goalkeeper cannot use his hand to touch or play the ball. To do so is punished by a direct free kick and it may result in a card if the offence was tactical in nature or denied an obvious goal or goal scoring opportunity.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32873
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.