Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32914

Law 11 - Offside 12/11/2018

RE: High school Adult

Mark Fuchs of Land O Lakes, FLORIDA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32874

If a player makes a pass to his teammate that is in an offside position, but a defender tries to intercept the pass before it reaches the receiving teammate, but the defender completely misses the ball, (makes no contact with the ball at all), but is clearly attempting to play it, does this attempt still negate the offside by rule, or is it necessary for the defender to actually play the ball, (make contact with it), to negate the offside by rule. I have heard different answers to this question. What is the correct answer??

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
The defender must deliberately play the ball for offside to be reset. A rebound, deflection and of course a complete miss of the ball does not reset offside.
Any opinions to the contrary are incorrect.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mark,
the defender must make deliberate contact with the ball to reset an opposing PIOP status thus freeing him to play the ball ! A deflection, rebound or a deliberate save will NOT reset, and if there is NO touch at all then, nothing has changed the PIOP restricted status from the last team mates' touch thus NOT freeing him to play the ball.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mark,
Not only must the defender actually touch the ball in order to negate the possibility of an offside offence, they must deliberately play the ball (except for a deliberate save). If the ball is either missed completely or merely deflects or rebounds from the opponent, it does not affect the consideration of offside.

Anybody who tells you that an attempt to play the ball, where the defender completely fails to touch the ball, can reset offside, is wrong.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32914
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.