Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32982

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 1/13/2019

RE: Adult league Adult

Danny of Lawrence , Kansas USA asks...

Hi,
A player kicked a corner kick and mistakenly hit the flag, or the ball hit the flag. The flag felt into the field.
What is the call in this case?

Thank you,

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Danny,
If this were simply an unfortunate mistake, it would depend what happened next. If the ball goes out of play, the restart would be either a goal kick or throw-in, depending on which line the ball crossed as it went out and the corner flag would be replaced. If the ball remains in play the referee could allow play to continue if the fallen flag is not causing an impediment to play (the flag would be replaced later) but if the ball is still in the vicinity of the corner area and the fallen flag is affecting play, the referee could stop play, have the flag replaced and (assuming no other offence like a double touch had occurred) have the corner retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Danny
As Referee Grove points out it depends on what happened next.
Have a look at these series of corner kicks. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M4oUiPbR_yg This one is a double touch that goes out over the goal line. That could be an IDFK if correctly spotted or a goal kick. Not sure what decision the referee went with and it has the look of a dropped ball which makes little sense to me.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pyXLi0wd2ko&t=0m50s
Second one the kicker misses the ball completely so it is a retake after the flag is replaced.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WR02hY5gMA8 This one involves the player falling on the ball after the kick and handles the ball. The referee punishes the more serious offence of deliberate handling in that situation.
If the ball comes into play from the kick and there is no double touch by the kicker then play simply continues. The flag can be replaced at the next stoppage or by ground staff while play continues.
In this one it is a retake
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zjODVplapHg
In this one it is play on as the ball is in play
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5HQbyKm_NtI





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32982
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - The Corner Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.