Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32990

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/15/2019

RE: Rec Adult

Andy Shaw of Manchester, UK asks...

Last night I was playing 5-a-side soccer indoors when the opposition goalkeeper decided to take his boots off and place them on the goal line in the middle of the goal. Moments later a shot hit the left hand post and rolled along the goal line. It hit the boots and deviated away from the goal. No one can be certain if the ball would have crossed the line had the boots not been there but it was certainly very possible. Should a goal have been awarded in this instance?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Andy,
This reads like one of those questions they put in referee tests of a scenario that would never happen, except once to a friend of a friend of mine!

Although having refereed local indoor soccer myself...all sorts of weird things happen!

Unfortunately there's no provision to allow a goal when the ball hasn't crossed the line.

I'd argue that the goalkeeper should have been sent off though, for Denying an Obvious Goalscoring Opportunity by an offence punishable by a free kick (leaving the shoes in the middle of the goal would warrant a yellow card and a free kick, stopping the likely goal escalates it to red)



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Andy
A goal cannot be awarded when the ball has not clearly crossed the goal line. There is no provision in either indoor or outdoor soccer fo a penalty goal to be awarded.
All therefore that the referee can do is stop play, caution the goalkeeper and restart with an IDFK from the penalty area line at the point nearest to where the offence was committed.
A card might be harsh yet it is the only way that a restart to the attacking team can be given. Otherwise it is a dropped ball from where the ball was when play was stopped.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32990
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.